This article contains affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
It always happens around the third hour at the sandbar. The kids have done fifty runs each, and now Dad, the uncle who played college football, and the neighbor from two boats over all want a turn. Someone asks, half joking, whether the slide can take it. It’s a fair question, and the answer is printed right on the box. This guide gathers the pontoon slide weight limit from every maker we could document, explains what the number covers, and what to do if you’re over it.

In short: every consumer pontoon slide we found is rated at 200 lb for one rider: RAVE, Airhead, WOW, O’Brien and the discontinued Aquaglide Freefall all state 200 lb. RAVE adds that the limit covers anyone sliding or climbing, one person at a time. The only boat slide we found with a higher rider rating is Lakesurf’s drop-stitch Slide Island at 300 lb in slide mode. If a rider is over the limit, the maker’s answer is simple: they don’t ride.
Pontoon slide weight limit, maker by maker
Here’s every rating we could find, as the maker or a major retailer states it, checked in October 2026:
| Slide | Weight limit stated | Riders | Where it’s stated | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RAVE Sports Pontoon Slide | 200 lb | One person sliding or climbing at a time | RAVE product page and owner’s manual | On sale |
| Airhead (SportsStuff) Spillway | 200 lb | 1 user (Amazon listing) | Airhead product page; Amazon | On sale |
| WOW Pontoon Waterfall Slide | 200 lb | 1 rider | Tractor Supply and Walmart listings | On sale |
| O’Brien Pontoon Slide | 200 lb | Not stated | Overton’s; Amazon listing | On sale |
| Aquaglide Freefall Pontoon Slide | 200 lb | Not stated | Retailer listing | Discontinued |
| RAVE Dock Slide (pontoon or dock) | 200 lb | Not stated | Retailer listings | Discontinued by RAVE |
| Lakesurf Slide Island (drop-stitch) | 300 lb in slide mode | One person sliding at a time | Lakesurf product page and manual | On sale |
| Paddle North Slide | Not published | Not stated | Paddle North product page and guide | On sale |
Two notes on the table. First, the WOW slide’s listings disagree on which of its 126 x 38 x 47 in figures is width and which is height, but they agree on 200 lb and one rider. Second, the Paddle North Slide is a floating slide you can tether to a boat; its maker doesn’t publish a rider limit, so we don’t give one.
What the 200 lb limit means
RAVE’s owner’s manual is the most specific. It says: do not allow more than one person, up to 200 lb, to slide and/or climb on the slide at one time, and that exceeding this may result in injury. Two practical points follow from that wording:
- It’s per person, one at a time. Two 90 lb kids together don’t fit under it: the rule is one person on the slide at once, sliding or climbing.
- Climbing counts. The next rider waits on deck until the slider is in the water and clear.
Makers don’t explain how they arrive at the figure, and we don’t try to work one out from the slide’s size. Use the number on your slide’s label and manual. Two slides that look alike can carry different ratings, as Slide Island shows.
Over 200 lb? Your options
If an adult in your group is over 200 lb, a standard tube-style pontoon slide isn’t for them. Among slides that attach to a boat, Lakesurf’s Slide Island is the one we found with a higher rating: 300 lb in slide mode, per the maker. It’s a drop-stitch panel pumped to 5 to 10 psi that ties to the boat’s cleats and also works as a floating mat. Check that your boat has what it needs: a flat area about 3 ft wide at or above water level. For other ideas, our best inflatable boat slides and best dock slides guides list the ratings of each pick.
On double-decker pontoons with a factory fiberglass slide, the number Bennington publishes is the upper deck’s rating (4 people or 585 lb on its Top Deck), not a rating for the slide itself. Ask the dealer for the slide’s own limit.
How other slide types are rated
Pontoon slides aren’t the only slides near a boat, and the way makers rate the others is different. Floating lake slides that anchor on their own are rated as a whole unit: Aquaglide’s Freefall 6 states 600 lb, or 3 adults or 3 children, and asks for at least 6 ft of water. Yacht slides are a separate world again. The FunAir, Yachtbeach, FreeStyle and Superyacht Tenders & Toys pages we read publish sizes, rail ranges, materials and setup times, but not a rider weight limit, so ask the maker for it when you order. Our best yacht slides guide lists what each one does publish.
Where to find your slide’s rating
- The owner’s manual. RAVE prints its limit in the safety rules section, next to the one-rider rule. Lakesurf prints it on the product page and gives the one-at-a-time rule in the manual’s warnings.
- The listing you bought from. Airhead’s Amazon listing, for example, gives “1 user, 200 lbs.” Keep a screenshot with your receipt.
- The maker, by phone or email. RAVE asks you to have the serial number ready when you call. If a slide came second-hand with no manual, ask the maker before anyone rides.
One more thing makers don’t publish: a minimum rider weight or age. Small children are within the weight limit, but makers ask for adult supervision and a U.S. Coast Guard approved life jacket; see kids and boat slides.
Weight is one of three limits
A slide rated for your weight still needs the right water and the right boat. RAVE’s manual asks for at least 8 ft of water and 20 ft clear in every direction (its product page says a minimum of 5 ft; use the larger figure), and Lakesurf also says at least 8 ft. Both ask for one rider at a time, feet first, and RAVE adds: no head-first sliding, no jumping from the top, and stay seated. And the slide has to suit your boat: RAVE lists rail height, post spacing and deck width. Read water depth and clearance and will a slide fit my boat.
Slides and their ratings
Prices change often. The prices below are what we saw on Amazon in October 2026; check the current price before you buy.
Lakesurf Slide Island
- 300 lb in slide mode
- Drop-stitch, ties to cleats
- About $749
RAVE Sports Pontoon Slide
- 200 lb, one person
- 12V inflator included
- About $320
See every pontoon slide in our catalog side by side:
| Spec | RAVE Pontoon Slide | Airhead Spillway pontoon slide | WOW Pontoon Waterfall Slide | O’Brien Pontoon Slide |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Size (as stated) | 10 ft L x 25 in W x 68 in H; 9 ft slide | 10.5 x 2.75 x 4.5 ft; 8 ft slide | 126 x 38 x 47 in (retailers disagree on width vs height); 8 ft slide | 105 in L x 24 in W x 70 in H |
| Stated capacity | 200 lb rider limit | 200 lb rider limit | 200 lb, 1 rider | 200 lb rider limit |
| Minimum water depth | 5 ft (maker) | not published | not published | not published |
| Construction | Reinforced PVC | 1,000-denier PVC; 4 molded steps; 2 handles | not published | Commercial-grade reinforced PVC |
| Weight | 30 lb | not published | 54.9 lb | not published |
| Anchoring / attachment | not published | not published | Adjustable straps | Heavy-duty anchor straps |
| Inflation | 12 V high-pressure inflator included | High-pressure valve; pump not included | not published | not published |
| Warranty | 1 year | not published | 1 year | not published |
| Price signal | $319.99 (maker, when checked) | $604.99 (maker, when checked) | not published | not published |
| See it at RAVE Sports | See it at Airhead | See it at Tractor Supply | See it at Overton's |
Figures as each maker states them; makers measure capacity differently. Check the product page for sources and dates.
More pontoon guides live under pontoon boat slides, including best pontoon boat slides. Sliding with children? Read kids and boat slides. Setting up? See how to attach a boat slide.
Pontoon slide weight limit questions
What is the weight limit on a pontoon slide?
200 lb for one rider on every tube-style pontoon slide we found: RAVE, Airhead Spillway, WOW Pontoon Waterfall, O’Brien and the discontinued Aquaglide Freefall. Lakesurf’s Slide Island is rated 300 lb in slide mode.
Can two kids go down a pontoon slide together?
No. RAVE’s manual says no more than one person on the slide at a time, sliding or climbing, and Lakesurf says one person sliding at a time. Makers don’t allow two riders even if their combined weight is under 200 lb.
Can adults use a pontoon slide?
Yes, if they’re within the limit: 200 lb on most pontoon slides, 300 lb on Slide Island. Adults follow the same rules as kids: one at a time, feet first, seated, deep water.
What happens if you go over the weight limit?
RAVE says exceeding its one-person, 200 lb limit “may result in injury.” It’s the maker’s safety limit, not a suggestion; anyone over it should skip the slide.
Is a double-decker pontoon slide rated higher?
Bennington publishes its Top Deck rating (4 people or 585 lb), not a separate slide rating. Ask the dealer what the slide itself is rated for before heavier riders use it.
Do dock slides have the same weight limit?
Some do. The Airhead Spillway is sold as both a pontoon and a dock slide at 200 lb, and the discontinued RAVE Dock Slide was rated 200 lb as well. Larger floating slides are rated as a unit instead: Aquaglide’s Freefall 6 states 600 lb, or 3 adults or 3 children. See best dock slides for each pick’s rating.
